Dakshina Kannada Baseline
GDDP Composition
Demographics
Live Data Snapshot
Commodity Prices
Groundwater by Block
Groundwater is not a binding constraint. With irrigation almost entirely well-based, the priority is keeping Sulya and Bantwal well within the Safe band through recharge and efficient micro-irrigation as plantation area and urban demand grow.
| Block | Status | Extraction | Headroom for new irrigation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sulya | Safe | 53.74% | Moderate headroom |
| Bantwal | Safe | 53.34% | Moderate headroom |
| Mangalore | Safe | 48.57% | Moderate headroom |
| Belthangady | Safe | 46.59% | Moderate headroom |
| Puttur | Safe | 39.9% | High: prioritise new borewells & solar pumps here |
| Mulki | Safe | 39.89% | High: prioritise new borewells & solar pumps here |
| Mudabidri | Safe | 39.71% | High: prioritise new borewells & solar pumps here |
| Kadaba | Safe | 38.32% | High: prioritise new borewells & solar pumps here |
| Ullala | Safe | 32.98% | High: prioritise new borewells & solar pumps here |
Source: Dynamic Ground Water Resources of Karnataka 2025 (CGWB South Western Region and Ground Water Directorate, Karnataka, December 2025); GWRA 2024 for comparison
Strengths & Challenges
- ✓Karnataka's 2nd-largest district economy: GDDP Rs 1,54,509 crore (2024-25), 5.3% of state GSDP, growing 12.2% a year in nominal terms
- ✓2nd-highest per-capita income in Karnataka at Rs 6,26,279, about 1.6 times the state average and behind only Bengaluru Urban
- ✓Karnataka's most industrial district: industry is 37.4% of GDDP, ranked 1st of 31, anchored by MRPL's refinery, the fertiliser and chemical units at Panambur and Baikampady, and New Mangalore Port
- ✓2nd on human development (HDI 0.687, 2022) with Mangalore the top-ranked taluk in the state; literacy 88.57% and a sex ratio of 1,020 (2nd in Karnataka)
- ✓Energy and industrial base of state importance: MRPL (Rs 1,05,155 crore revenue), Mangalore SEZ (over Rs 16,000 crore invested, Rs 34,000 crore cumulative exports), Karnataka's only fertiliser plant and KIOCL's 3.5 MTPA pellet plant
- ✓Gateway port: New Mangalore Port handled a record 50.04 million tonnes of cargo in 2025-26, up 8.8%
- ✓Water-secure: groundwater extraction is only 45.71% of the extractable resource (state 66.49%), with all 9 taluks Safe (GWRA 2025) and 4,006 mm normal annual rainfall
- ✓Strong banking base: 670 bank branches, deposits of Rs 86,933 crore, and 113% achievement of the 2025-26 priority-sector credit plan
- ✓Very high tourism footfall: about 6.53 crore domestic visitors in 2025, led by Kukke Subrahmanya (1.60 crore) and Dharmasthala (1.17 crore)
- ✓Education outcomes: 1st in Karnataka in SSLC 2026 and 93.57% in 2nd PUC 2026, with 9 medical and 18 engineering colleges
- ✓Declared an Export Hub (Dec 2025) for seafood and cashew; CAMPCO, headquartered in Mangaluru, turned over Rs 3,735 crore in 2025-26
- ✗Credit-deposit ratio of 70.04% (30.06.2026) is below the state's 77.99%: much of the district's large deposit base is not lent locally, especially in the urban belt
- ✗Non-priority lending achieved only 55.54% of its 2025-26 plan, pulling total credit-plan achievement down to 76.32%
- ✗Agriculture is a small share of GDDP (6.8%) and depends heavily on arecanut (about 99,000 ha), leaving farm incomes exposed to price and disease shocks in one crop
- ✗Large household-industry workforce: 18.86% of workers, mostly women in beedi rolling, a low-wage and declining livelihood
- ✗Small holdings: 63.45% of farm holdings are 1 hectare or less
- ✗Irrigation relies almost entirely on wells (about 84% of net irrigated area, mostly tube wells) with no canal command
- ✗Industrial land is scarce: the 1,050-acre Balkunje MSME area is delayed, about 450 acres of JESCO and KISCO land has been idle for over 30 years, and KIADB estate data dates to 2010-11
- ✗Community health centres (8) are 9 short of the IPHS norm for the 2011 population, even as hospital capacity is large
- ✗Marine catch fell over 28% in 2024-25 (1.72 lakh MT from 2.39 lakh MT), with rising diesel and labour costs squeezing boat operators
- ✗Baikampady Industrial Area lacks underground drainage and reliable power cabling, and several roads are in poor condition (KCCI, Sep 2026)
- ✗Urban project delays: Jalasiri 24x7 water pushed to March 2027, and 7 of 105 Smart City projects still pending (Aug 2026)
Opportunities
- ⚡Build on the 37.4% industry share with port-led manufacturing, logistics and petrochemical-linked downstream units around MRPL and New Mangalore Port
- ⚡Land the approved energy and chemical capex: ONGC's 1.75 MT strategic petroleum reserve and Paradeep Phosphates' Rs 1,150 crore acid plant
- ⚡Use the 96-acre Ganjimutt Plastic Park (Rs 62.77 crore, being developed by KIADB) to grow downstream plastics MSMEs
- ⚡Deepen local lending: lift the 70.04% CD ratio toward the state average by channelling deposits into MSME, agri value-chain and housing credit
- ⚡Diversify plantation incomes through arecanut, coconut, cashew and cocoa processing and FPO aggregation
- ⚡Scale marine fisheries value addition (the district's One District One Product) through cold chain and processing
- ⚡Convert very high pilgrimage and beach footfall into longer, higher-value stays (Kodikal and Tannirbhavi coastal tourism projects)
- ⚡Offer alternative livelihoods to beedi-rolling households through skilling and MSME credit
- ⚡Use Export Hub status for seafood and cashew to build processing, testing and cold chain, alongside the new Fisheries CoE at Mangalore Fisheries College
- ⚡Unlock MSME land: complete Balkunje and repossess idle JESCO and KISCO land; build the proposed multi-modal logistics park
Goals
Next Steps
- KUIDFC project launched Dec 2019: 1,288.8 km distribution network, 19 overhead tanks, 6 ground-level reservoirs, 7 pumping stations, 96,300 metered connections, 81.7 MLD filtration at Adyar
- 76% complete (June 2026): 877.79 km of pipeline laid, all 7 pumping stations done, 3 overhead tanks supplying water and 7 commissioned, 38,200 households connected
- Key works extended to March 2027; household connections by August 2027; additional Rs 127.7 crore approved Jan 2024 for a 125 MLD treatment plant at Adyar
- 105 projects worth Rs 2,573 crore; 98 completed by Aug 2026 (ETV Bharat), 93 worth Rs 2,425 crore by Mar 2025
- Central assistance Rs 453 crore claimed and state share Rs 463 crore released (Rajya Sabha reply, Mar 2025)
- Includes Netravati riverbank revetment, Jeppu-Morgans Gate smart road with rail underbridge, command and control centre and Central Market rehabilitation
Mangaluru Digital Economy
From Rs 5,260 Cr today to Rs 40,000 Cr by 2034
Covers all four districts of KDEM's Mangaluru cluster: Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Uttara Kannada and Kodagu. The tech industry sits mainly in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi.
A Rs 3 Lakh Crore Economy With Karnataka's Best Living Standards Outside Bengaluru
The four districts produce Rs 3 lakh crore, over a tenth of Karnataka's GDP, up 39% since 2021-22. Dakshina Kannada and Udupi have the highest per capita incomes after Bengaluru Urban, and rank 2nd and 4th in the state on human development (2022).
Source: Karnataka GSDP: KDEM Strategic Dashboard. Cluster GDDP: four districts combined, Karnataka Economic Survey district tables, at Rs 83/USD. HDI: Economic Survey 2025-26. ★★★★★ [source] [ES 2022-23 p52] [ES 2023-24 p59] [ES 2024-25 p69] [ES 2025-26 p69] [HDI: ES 2025-26 p36]
Riding Karnataka's Compounding Growth
Karnataka is heading from $159B to $329B. Mangaluru's digital economy is up 46% since 2022-23 and targets Rs 40,000 Cr by 2034.
Karnataka's Digital Economy: $159B on the Way to $329B
Actuals to FY 2024-25, then KDEM's conservative scenario to 2031-32 (optimistic $406B, stretch $454B)
Source: KDEM Strategic Dashboard (NASSCOM Strategic Review 2025, MeitY, KDEM) ★★★★☆ [source]
Mangaluru's Path: Rs 5,260 Cr to Rs 40,000 Cr by 2034
IT services plus electronics manufacturing: reported history (solid) and the path to 2034 (dashed).
Up 46% since 2022-23 to Rs 5,260 Cr. The vision takes it to Rs 40,000 Cr by 2034, about 29% a year.
How these numbers are built
Each year adds IT revenue to the audited card-manufacturing revenue of Manipal Payment and Identity Solutions (ESDM). Only years with a published IT revenue figure are plotted. The dashed line is constant growth to the target.
Source: Mangalore Today (2023); Silicon Beach Program fact sheet (2026); KDEM; MPISL prospectus; vision document ★★★★☆ [source] [Mangalore Today 2023] [KDEM p46] [MPISL prospectus] [vision doc p24]
The Cluster Today and the 2034 Vision
Where Mangaluru stands on the three headline targets in KDEM's cluster vision document.
Silicon Beach Program fact sheet (1 Jul 2026); KDEM; MPISL prospectus; vision document p24 ★★★★☆ [source] [KDEM p46] [MPISL prospectus] [vision doc p24]
Silicon Beach Program fact sheet (1 Jul 2026); vision document p24 ★★★★☆ [source] [vision doc p24]
Silicon Beach Program fact sheet (1 Jul 2026); Startup India registry; vision document p24 ★★★★★ [source] [DPIIT registry] [vision doc p24]
The Talent Base: 50,000+ Tech Professionals and Growing
The cluster's tech workforce since 2021-22 and the path to KDEM's 2,00,000 jobs vision.
30,000+ tech professionals now work from the cluster's offices, meeting the vision's 2026 milestone, and 20,000 more work from home: 50,000+ in all. 13,000+ joined in the last three years.
How these numbers are built
Office-based workforce as reported; 2023-24 is derived from the December 2025 fact sheet (25,000 less 8,000+ added in 24 months). Today's 50,000+ adds 20,000 working from home. Years between KDEM's waypoints (50,000 by 2028, 1 lakh by 2031, 2 lakh by 2034) are interpolated.
| 2022-23 | 15,000+ | 100+ companies, 15,000+ engineers (Apr 2023) [source] |
| 2023-24 | 17,000 | DERIVED. 25,000 less 8,000+ added in 24 months [source] |
| 2024-25 | 20,000+ | 225+ companies (Dec 2024) [source] |
| 2025-26 | 25,000 | Fact sheet, 1 Dec 2025 [source] |
| Today | 50,000+ | 30,000 in offices + 20,000 working from home (fact sheet, 1 Jul 2026) [source] |
| Last 36 months | 13,000+ | Workforce added, with 60+ new companies [source] |
| Engineering seats | 12,390 + 4,580 | KCET seats in 22 colleges + NITK, MIT Manipal, NMAMIT (NIRF 2025) [source] |
| Costs | 25% lower | Operating costs, with 80% lower attrition (fact sheet) [source] |
| 2034 vision | 2,00,000 | Vision document p24 [source] |
Source: Silicon Beach Program fact sheets (Dec 2025, Jul 2026); Mangalore Today; Communications Today; vision document ★★★★☆
Where the Engineers Are: Stream Concentration by District
Share of KCET engineering seats by branch (KEA 2026). The cluster is as CS-focused as Bengaluru: 64% of seats in CS and IT against 61% statewide.
| District | Colleges | BE seats | CS & IT | Electronics | Mechanical | Civil | Other |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dakshina Kannada | 16 | 9,720 | 64% | 18% | 13% | 4% | 1% |
| Udupi | 2 | 1,050 | 68% | 23% | 6% | 3% | 0% |
| Uttara Kannada | 3 | 1,200 | 55% | 27% | 10% | 8% | 0% |
| Kodagu | 1 | 420 | 72% | 14% | 7% | 7% | 0% |
| Mangaluru cluster (all 4) | 22 | 12,390 | 64% | 19% | 12% | 4% | 1% |
| Bengaluru (for contrast) | 85 | 59,906 | 65% | 21% | 8% | 4% | 2% |
| Karnataka | - | 1,37,327 | 61% | 22% | 9% | 6% | 2% |
Darker means a higher share than the Karnataka average. Uttara Kannada leads in electronics (27%) and Dakshina Kannada in mechanical (13%). All 22 cluster colleges match KEA's printed totals. NITK, MIT Manipal and NMAMIT admit separately, adding 4,580 seats (NIRF 2025).
Source: KEA UGCET-2026 final engineering seat matrix [source] [NITK NIRF 2025] [MIT Manipal NIRF 2025] [NMAMIT NIRF 2025]
Three Engines to Rs 40,000 Cr
IT services and GCCs, electronics manufacturing and startups: reported history (solid) and the path to each engine's 2034 share (dashed).
IT Services & GCCs (exports + domestic)
CORE ENGINERevenue rose from $375 Mn in 2022-23 to $500 Mn (Rs 4,500 Cr) today, with Rs 3,500 Cr+ exported. 15+ GCCs, Infosys's 5,000-strong centre and eight companies with 1,000+ employees anchor the base.
How these numbers are built
The cluster's IT revenue is $500 Mn a year (Silicon Beach Program fact sheet, July 2026), which KDEM reports as Rs 4,500 Cr; STPI puts exports at Rs 3,500 Cr+. No consistent figure is published for 2023-24 and 2024-25, so the line joins the reported years. 2034 is the IT share of the Rs 40,000 Cr vision.
| 2022-23 | Rs 3,075 Cr | $375 Mn from 100+ companies (Apr 2023) [source] |
| 2025-26 | Rs 4,500 Cr | $500 Mn a year (fact sheet, Jul 2026); Rs 4,500 Cr (KDEM) [source] |
| Exports | Rs 3,500 Cr+ | STPI Karnataka, Sep 2025 [source] |
| Domestic | Rs 1,000 Cr | Rs 4,500 Cr revenue less Rs 3,500 Cr exports [source] |
| GCCs | 15+ | Source: KDEM. Examples: EG A/S (850 people), Bose Professional, Riskonnect, Arkieva |
| Large employers | 8 | Companies with 1,000+ employees each (fact sheet) [source] |
| Infosys | Since 1995 | Its first development centre outside Bengaluru; around 5,000 people today (Business Today) [source] |
| 2034 | Rs 30,179 Cr | Rs 23,473 Cr exports + Rs 6,706 Cr domestic [source] |
Source: Silicon Beach Program fact sheet; KDEM; STPI; Mangalore Today ★★★★☆ [source] [KDEM p46] [STPI 2025] [Infosys headcount]
ESDM
MADE IN MANIPALManipal Payment and Identity Solutions, the highest-ranked Indian payment-card maker (14th globally), makes cards in two Manipal plants: Rs 530 Cr in 2022-23, Rs 760 Cr in 2025-26.
How these numbers are built
Audited card-manufacturing revenue from the company's SEBI prospectuses; a floor, as other cluster electronics makers do not publish revenue. 2034 holds ESDM at today's 14% share of the digital economy.
| 2022-23 | Rs 530 Cr | Updated draft prospectus (Nov 2025) [source] |
| 2023-24 | Rs 744 Cr | Red herring prospectus (Sep 2026) [source] |
| 2024-25 | Rs 733 Cr | Red herring prospectus [source] |
| 2025-26 | Rs 760 Cr | Red herring prospectus; company revenue Rs 1,327 Cr [source] |
| Global rank | 14th | By card shipments, 2023 (Nilson Report, RHP p260) [source] |
| 2034 | Rs 5,600 Cr | 14% of the Rs 40,000 Cr vision [source] |
Source: MPISL SEBI prospectuses ★★★★☆ [source] [updated draft prospectus]
Startups & Innovation
FASTEST GROWING400+ tech startups today. Across all sectors, DPIIT-recognised startups tripled from 285 in 2021-22 to 855, with a record 179 added in 2025-26.
How these numbers are built
The chart counts live DPIIT-recognised startups in all four districts by year of registration (Startup India registry, 17 Sep 2026), across all sectors. The vision's 4,000+ target counts tech startups, now 400+.
| Tech startups | 400+ | Silicon Beach Program fact sheet, 1 Jul 2026 [source] |
| DPIIT, 2021-22 to 2025-26 | 285 → 789 | 285, 378, 487, 610, 789 [source] |
| DPIIT today | 855 | Dakshina Kannada 491, Udupi 219, Uttara Kannada 109, Kodagu 36 [source] |
| 2034 | 4,000+ | Tech startups, vision document p24 [source] |
Source: Silicon Beach Program fact sheet; Startup India DPIIT registry ★★★★☆ [source] [DPIIT registry] [vision doc p24]
How Four Streams Add Up to Rs 40,000 Cr
The Rs 40,000 Cr vision in four streams: ESDM keeps today's 14% share, startups take 12% of the rest as in the vision document's revenue model, and IT splits 78 / 22 between exports and domestic, as reported today.
Source: Vision document p24-25; MPISL prospectus; STPI and KDEM ★★★☆☆ [source] [MPISL prospectus] [STPI 2025]
What Each Engine Delivers by 2034
Growth rates are for 2025-26 to 2033-34.
| Vertical | Today | 2034 Vision | Implied CAGR | Driver |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IT Services & GCCs | Rs 4,500 Cr | Rs 30,179 Cr | ~27% | Infosys (~5,000 people), 15+ GCCs including EG A/S and Bose Professional, eight 1,000-plus employers, and GCC Policy rent and hiring support |
| ESDM | Rs 760 Cr | Rs 5,600 Cr | ~28% | MPISL is investing IPO proceeds in new equipment for its Manipal plants |
| Startups & Innovation | 400+ tech startups | 4,000+ (Rs 4,221 Cr) | ~33% (count) | LEAP (Rs 1,000 Cr), the Rs 75 Cr Beyond Bengaluru Cluster Seed Fund, and TBI 2.0 at Yenepoya |
| Total | Rs 5,260 Cr | Rs 40,000 Cr | ~29% | 13,000+ jobs and 60+ new companies added in the last 36 months |
Startup revenue is inside IT today and shown separately only for 2034.
Silicon Beach Program fact sheet; KDEM; STPI; MPISL prospectus; vision document ★★★☆☆ [source] [MPISL prospectus] [vision doc p25]
The Growth Story: 2023, Today and 2034
Since the TiE Mangaluru chapter launched in April 2023.
| Metric | April 2023 | Now (Jul 2026) | Vision 2034 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IT revenue | $375 Mn | $500 Mn (Rs 4,500 Cr) | Rs 30,179 Cr | Mangalore Today; fact sheet; vision document [source] |
| Electronics manufacturing | Rs 530 Cr (2022-23) | Rs 760 Cr | Rs 5,600 Cr | MPISL SEBI prospectuses [source] |
| Tech workforce | 15,000+ | 50,000+ (incl. 20,000 WFH) | 2,00,000 | Mangalore Today; fact sheet; vision document [source] |
| Technology companies | 100+ | 300+ | 25 large + 225 satellite offices | Mangalore Today; fact sheet; vision document [source] |
| Global capability centres | - | 15+ (KDEM) | 225+ satellite offices | KDEM |
| Tech startups | - | 400+ | 4,000+ | Fact sheet; vision document p24 [source] |
| Tech exports | - | Rs 3,500 Cr+ | Rs 23,473 Cr | STPI at Mangaluru Technovanza 2025 [source] |
| Global acquisitions of local firms | 1 (Robosoft) | 3 (Robosoft, Niveus, Novigo) | - | Fact sheet; acquirer announcements [source] |
The Cluster Scoreboard
Latest sourced figures for the four districts
Karnataka Economic Survey 2025-26, Appendix 1.6 ★★★★★ [source]
Fact sheet; KDEM; MPISL prospectus ★★★★☆ [source] [KDEM p46] [MPISL prospectus]
Silicon Beach Program fact sheet, 1 Jul 2026 ★★★★☆ [source]
SEBI red herring prospectus, Sep 2026 ★★★★★ [source]
Fact sheet; Startup India registry ★★★★★ [source] [DPIIT registry]
Karnataka Economic Survey 2025-26, Table 1.9 (2024-25) ★★★★★ [source]
Fact sheet; acquirer announcements ★★★★★ [source] [TechnoPro] [NTT DATA] [R Systems]
KDEM ★★★★☆ [EG A/S] [Bose] [Riskonnect] [Arkieva]
Three Industries the Cluster Is Built to Digitize
The sectors KDEM names for Mangaluru and the assets behind them.
BFSI and FinTech
Proximity: ●●●●●Canara, Corporation, Karnataka, Syndicate and Vijaya banks were all founded here. BFSI data localisation drives data centre demand, and BFSI firms in the cluster run at under 3% attrition.
Healthcare and Life Sciences
Proximity: ●●●●○15+ medical and dental colleges, TBI 2.0 at Yenepoya (Rs 10 Cr), and deep-tech firms such as Sophrosyne (India's first medical-grade ECG chip) and Blackfrog (vaccine cold chain).
Port, Logistics and Data Centres
Proximity: ●●●●○New Mangalore Port, MRPL and five national highways. Land leases at about Rs 7.69 per sq ft, around half of Chennai's, and a planned gigawatt-scale AI data centre hub expected to create 25,000+ jobs.
Source: KDEM data centre feasibility study (Nov 2025); vision document p36 ★★★☆☆ [source] [vision doc p36] [Daijiworld 2025]
Policy Firepower the Cluster Can Draw On
State programmes that name or favour the Mangaluru cluster
| Scheme | Allocation | Scope | Target / Impact |
|---|---|---|---|
| LEAP (Local Economy Accelerator Programme) | Rs 1,000 Cr (5 yrs) | State, Beyond Bengaluru | 5 lakh jobs; Mangaluru is a Class A cluster; includes a fund of funds ★★★★★ [source] |
| Beyond Bengaluru Cluster Seed Fund | Rs 75 Cr corpus | Mysuru, Mangaluru, Hubballi-Dharwad | SEBI-registered fund investing in startups in Mysuru, Mangaluru and Hubballi-Dharwad ★★★★★ [source] |
| ELEVATE NxT | Rs 150 Cr | State, deep tech | Deep-tech startup programme under LEAP, launched January 2026 ★★★★★ [source] |
| Karnataka Startup Policy 2025-2030 | Rs 500 Cr fund of funds | Beyond Bengaluru | Up to 25,000 new startups, 10,000 from Beyond Bengaluru; Rs 80 Cr for incubator hubs ★★★★★ [source] |
| Karnataka IT Policy 2025-2030 | Notified | State | Software exports from Rs 4.09 L Cr to Rs 11.5 L Cr by 2030; 40% R&D support up to Rs 5 Cr ★★★★★ [source] |
| Karnataka GCC Policy 2024-29 | Up to Rs 2 Cr rent support | Beyond Bengaluru | 50% first-year rent, EPF, internet and power duty support, R&D grants up to Rs 50 Cr; co-working priority for Mangaluru ★★★★★ [source] |
| TBI 2.0 at Yenepoya, Mangaluru | Rs 10 Cr | Cluster | One of 11 new TBIs, Rs 10 Cr per incubator over five years; AI and XR in healthcare, biomanufacturing and pharma ★★★★★ [source] |
| KEONICS Tech Park, Derebail | Rs 135 Cr | Cluster | 3.285 acres at Blueberry Hills on a PPP model; 11,000+ jobs ★★★★★ [source] |
Source: Each row links to its own source [source]
The Stories That Prove It
Cluster companies that grew into global players.
Founded in Mangaluru in 2013, Novigo grew revenue 44% a year to Rs 264 Cr in FY25 at a 25% EBITDA margin. Blackstone-backed R Systems bought it in 2025 for Rs 400 Cr upfront plus performance-linked stock, valued at Rs 950 Cr by KDEM. 56% of its people work in Mangaluru.
All three years as disclosed in R Systems' filing: Rs 101.7 Cr, Rs 199.0 Cr and Rs 264.4 Cr (FY25 provisional). Source: R Systems BSE filing, 21 Aug 2025.
R Systems International disclosure to BSE, 21 Aug 2025; Draft Mangaluru Cluster Vision Document 2025, p43 ★★★★★ [source] [completion] [KDEM: Rs 950 Cr] [vision doc p43]
Founded in 1996 with Apple as its first customer, Robosoft grew from Udupi into a global digital product company. Net sales rose from Rs 75 Cr (FY19) to Rs 184 Cr (FY21), and Japan's TechnoPro Holdings acquired it for Rs 805 Cr in 2021.
All three years as disclosed by the acquirer. Source: TechnoPro Holdings, 10 Aug 2021.
TechnoPro Holdings, acquisition announcement, 10 Aug 2021 ★★★★★ [source] [Business Line profile] [vision doc p43]
Udupi-based Niveus won Google Cloud's 2024 Breakthrough Partner of the Year (APAC) and Services Partner of the Year (India). NTT DATA acquired it in February 2025, adding 1,000+ Google Cloud engineers.
NTT DATA; Niveus Solutions ★★★★★ [source] [Google Cloud awards]
Denmark's EG A/S built an 850-member team in Mangaluru in two years, its largest GCC outside Europe. Bose Professional opened its first R&D centre outside Massachusetts here, projected to reach 100 people. KDEM counts 15+ GCCs in the cluster.
Daijiworld; Communications Today; News Karnataka ★★★★☆ [source] [Communications Today] [Bose Professional]
India's Silicon Beach
The 2034 targets in KDEM's Mangaluru Cluster Vision Document
KDEM's Draft Mangaluru Cluster Vision Document, released at Mangaluru Technovanza on 24 September 2025. [source]
Every figure links to its source, and estimates are labelled in chart legends and under 'How these numbers are built'. Key sources: Silicon Beach Program fact sheet (1 July 2026), KDEM (vision document, Bengaluru Innovation Report 2025, data centre study, Strategic Dashboard), Karnataka Economic Survey, Startup India DPIIT registry, KEA seat matrix, NIRF 2025, SEBI prospectuses and company filings. Karnataka dashboard: kdem.vercel.app
Who's In Charge?
Select a role to see a dashboard customized for their responsibilities.
Dakshina Kannada is Karnataka's 2nd-largest district economy (GDDP Rs 1,54,509 cr) with the 2nd-highest per-capita income (Rs 6.26 lakh) and the state's highest industry share (37.4%). The agenda is lending more of its large deposit base locally (CD 70.04%), diversifying beyond arecanut and beedi livelihoods, and building on port and refinery-led industry.
A high-rainfall (4,006 mm normal), well-irrigated plantation district: arecanut (about 99,000 ha), coconut, cashew and cocoa, with marine fisheries as its One District One Product (3.45 lakh MT). Holdings are small (63% under 1 ha) and incomes depend heavily on arecanut.
A major healthcare hub: 2,880 hospitals, 23,234 beds and 5,059 doctors (DES 2024-25), with PHCs (77) and sub-centres (430) meeting IPHS norms. Community health centres (7, 2010-11 count) are below the norm and need a fresh audit.
On the 2011 population base, sub-centres (430) and PHCs (77, all IPHS-compliant, 366 beds) meet IPHS norms, and 355 PHCs and sub-centres now run as Health and Wellness Centres; community health centres (8, 330 beds) fall 9 short of the norm. Overall capacity is large: 2,880 hospitals with 23,234 beds (549 government with 10,365 beds, 2,331 private with 12,869), 8 autonomous and teaching hospitals (6,707 beds), 5,059 doctors (141 government), 1,445 medical shops and 16 blood banks (31.03.2025, DES District At A Glance 2024-25). The Economic Survey 2025-26 counts 2,341 registered private medical establishments, 7% of Karnataka's and second only to Bengaluru. Public capacity is growing: a 300-bed government hospital at Puttur (approved Nov 2025) and a Rs 70 crore Wenlock expansion plus 74 CSR-funded beds.
Literacy is 88.57% (3rd in Karnataka; male 93.13%, female 84.13%) and the district ranks 2nd on HDI, with Mangalore the top taluk. The education index (0.595) is the lowest of its three HDI components, driven by mean years of schooling (0.479).
Land for industry sits in older KIADB estates (Baikampady, Canara, EPIP, IT SEZ) and the new Ganjimutt Plastic Park. With groundwater Safe in every taluk, land-water conflicts are limited; the priority is clean, current estate-wise land records.
Karnataka's most industrial district (industry 37.4% of GDDP): MRPL's refinery, New Mangalore Port (50.04 MMT in 2025-26), fertiliser and chemical units at Panambur and Baikampady, and 99,854 Udyam MSMEs. The Ganjimutt Plastic Park opens downstream opportunities; estate-wise land data needs refreshing.
Water is a strength: extraction is 45.71% of extractable groundwater (state 66.49%) and all nine taluks are Safe (GWRA 2025). Irrigation is about 84% well-fed with no canal command, so the task is recharge and efficient use in Sulya and Bantwal.
Dakshina Kannada: 20.9 lakh people (Census 2011), Karnataka's 2nd-largest district economy (Rs 1,54,509 cr) and 2nd-highest per-capita income (Rs 6.26 lakh), with the state's highest industry share (37.4%), a record-cargo port and groundwater Safe in all nine taluks. The gaps are local credit deployment (CD 70.04%) and livelihoods tied to arecanut and beedi rolling.
Development Roadmap
- KUIDFC project launched Dec 2019: 1,288.8 km distribution network, 19 overhead tanks, 6 ground-level reservoirs, 7 pumping stations, 96,300 metered connections, 81.7 MLD filtration at Adyar
- 76% complete (June 2026): 877.79 km of pipeline laid, all 7 pumping stations done, 3 overhead tanks supplying water and 7 commissioned, 38,200 households connected
- Key works extended to March 2027; household connections by August 2027; additional Rs 127.7 crore approved Jan 2024 for a 125 MLD treatment plant at Adyar
- Berth No. 9 liquid-bulk redevelopment: Rs 438.29 crore PPP (DBFOT), approved March 2026; 10.90 MTPA; draft 10.5 m to 14 m; 2-year build
- Kulai fishing harbour: Rs 196.51 crore (50% centre under Sagarmala, 45% NMPA, 5% state); works paused since Oct 2024, expert committee found layout matches tender
- Rs 1,500 crore of port projects inaugurated or begun at the Golden Jubilee (Nov 2025)
- Paradeep Phosphates phosphoric and sulphuric acid plant at Mangalore: Rs 1,150 crore, approved Nov 2025, 2.5 years
- KIOCL Blast Furnace Unit integration: Rs 836.90 crore approved by KIOCL Board and Public Investment Board; its 1.80 LTPA coke oven plant (Rs 218.30 crore) was 76% complete on 31 Mar 2026
- KIOCL mechanised coal handling system at the pellet plant: Rs 30.78 crore
- Ganjimutt Plastic Park, 96 acres, Rs 62.77 crore (GoI and KIADB 50:50): 55% complete by Aug 2024; land litigation over 9.33 acres resolved Oct 2025; revised layout approved Mar 2026; KIADB invited plot applications Apr 2026
- Balkunje MSME industrial area (1,050 acres proposed across Dakshina Kannada and Udupi) pending; industry seeks repossession of ~400 acres JESCO and ~50 acres KISCO land for MSMEs
- Baikampady Industrial Area: KIADB proposed Rs 50 crore water treatment plant; drainage, power cabling and roads need upgrading
- 300-bed government hospital at Puttur approved by the Finance Department (27 Nov 2025) for the medical college announced in Budget 2025-26; reaffirmed in Budget 2026-27
- Wenlock District Hospital expansion in two phases (Rs 70 crore); phase 1 is a Rs 35 crore two-storey OPD block (8,257 sq m) with solar power
- Wenlock Medicine Block 4th and 5th floors via Rs 10 crore MRPL CSR: CSSD plus 52-bed and 22-bed wards (74 beds)
- 105 projects worth Rs 2,573 crore; 98 completed by Aug 2026 (ETV Bharat), 93 worth Rs 2,425 crore by Mar 2025
- Central assistance Rs 453 crore claimed and state share Rs 463 crore released (Rajya Sabha reply, Mar 2025)
- Includes Netravati riverbank revetment, Jeppu-Morgans Gate smart road with rail underbridge, command and control centre and Central Market rehabilitation
- ONGC 1.75 MT strategic petroleum reserve at Mangaluru approved as a project of national importance (Jul 2026)
- Downstream plastics and chemicals using MRPL feedstock
- Centre of Excellence at Mangalore Fisheries College (State Budget 2026-27)
- Export-hub processing for seafood and cashew; FPO-led arecanut, coconut and cocoa processing
- Kukke Shri Subramanya Temple development authority (State Budget 2026-27)
- Kodikal and Tannirbhavi PPP beach projects; coastal tourism plan with seaplane and heli-taxi links
Consolidate Dakshina Kannada as Karnataka's coastal energy, port and services hub, with deeper local credit and diversified livelihoods beyond arecanut and beedi rolling.
Industry Sectors
Petroleum Refining, Petrochemicals & Energy Security
Dakshina Kannada is Karnataka's refining and petrochemical base. MRPL's refinery processed a record-level 16.774 MMT of crude in 2025-26 at 111.8% capacity utilisation (a record 6.78 MMT of diesel), earning Rs 1,05,155 crore in revenue and Rs 1,931 crore profit after tax (company-wide), with 2,450 employees. Its aromatics complex in the Mangalore SEZ (formerly ONGC Mangalore Petrochemicals, 442 acres, Rs 7,500 crore) is rated at 914 KTPA para-xylene and 283 KTPA benzene. The district also holds a 1.5 MMT underground strategic crude reserve at Permude, and in July 2026 ONGC's board approved a further 1.75 MT strategic petroleum reserve at Mangaluru as a project of national importance. Invest Karnataka records MRPL's investment in the district at Rs 25,409 crore. MRPL spent Rs 2,044 crore on capex and long-term investment in 2025-26 (Rs 1,154 crore in 2024-25).
Investment
Employment Impact
Revenue / Exports
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - use refinery and aromatics feedstock to anchor downstream plastics and chemical MSMEs; support the SPR expansion
Port, Shipping & Logistics
New Mangalore Port, Karnataka's only major port, handled a record 50.04 MMT of cargo in 2025-26, up 8.8% from 46.01 MMT, and 1,79,594 TEUs of containers. It is India's largest coffee exporter and second-largest LPG importer, 92% mechanised and 100% solar powered, with usable capacity of 74 MMT and a goal of 100 MMT by 2047. At its Golden Jubilee in November 2025, 16 infrastructure and 113 CSR projects worth Rs 1,500 crore were inaugurated or begun, including a 150-bed PPP hospital, and NMPA signed Rs 52,000 crore of MoUs at India Maritime Week 2025. In March 2026 the Ministry approved a Rs 438.29 crore PPP redevelopment of Berth No. 9 (draft 10.5 m to 14 m, 10.90 MTPA, vessels up to 2 lakh DWT). Cargo beat the ministry's 48.5 MMT target; Berth No. 13 is proposed for captive users and Berth No. 17 is to be tendered. The Rs 196.51 crore Kulai fishing harbour is listed by Sagarmala as under implementation. In 2024-25 NMPA earned an operating income of Rs 921.36 crore, an operating surplus of Rs 611 crore and profit after tax of Rs 420.57 crore.
Investment
Employment Impact
Revenue / Exports
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - award Berth 9, resume Kulai, and build port-led logistics
Fertilisers, Chemicals & Iron-ore Processing
Panambur and Baikampady host Karnataka's only fertiliser plant and heavy process industry. Mangalore Chemicals & Fertilizers merged into Paradeep Phosphates in October 2025; in November 2025 the company approved a Rs 1,150 crore phosphoric and sulphuric acid plant at its Mangalore site (+0.25 MMTPA phosphoric acid, +0.75 MMTPA sulphuric acid, 2.5 years). KIOCL runs a 3.5 MTPA pellet plant and a blast furnace unit with its own port berth at Mangaluru; in 2025-26 it returned to profit (Rs 16.57 crore) on Rs 613.46 crore revenue, dispatched a record 27.71 lakh tonnes of NMDC-converted pellets across 53 shipments, and is building a Rs 218.30 crore coke oven plant (76% complete). Invest Karnataka records investments of Rs 1,985.99 crore (KIOCL), Rs 1,034 crore (MCF) and Rs 447 crore (BASF). KIOCL's Board and the Public Investment Board approved a Rs 836.90 crore Blast Furnace Unit integration (coke oven, waste-heat power, ductile iron pipe, pulverised coal injection, oxygen and nitrogen plants).
Investment
Employment Impact
Revenue / Exports
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - fast-track the Rs 1,150 crore acid plant and KIOCL integration projects
Marine Fisheries & Seafood Exports
Marine fisheries is the district's One District One Product and, with cashew, the product line for which the Centre declared Dakshina Kannada an export hub in December 2025. The Fisheries Department recorded a marine catch of 1.72 lakh MT in 2024-25, down over 28% from 2.39 lakh MT in 2023-24; Karnataka's landings rebounded 44% in 2025 (CMFRI). The district has 3 fishing harbours and jetties, 3,198 boats, 23 fishermen's cooperatives and 94 fish markets (NABARD PLP 2026-27). The 2026-27 State Budget sets up a Centre of Excellence for biotechnology and mariculture at Mangalore Fisheries College and doubles the fishing kit support to Rs 20,000. District At A Glance 2024-25 records a total fish catch of 1,78,981 tonnes (Mangaluru taluk 1,28,001), 31,153 full-time and 1,924 part-time fishing families, 73 ice plants (2,707 tonnes/day), 16 cold storages (11,262 tonnes/day), 94 fish markets and 200 Matsyashraya housing beneficiaries.
Investment
Employment Impact
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - finish Kulai, build export-hub processing and the fisheries CoE
Plantation Crops, Cashew & Agro-processing
Arecanut dominates the district's farms (99,190 ha, 1,30,940 MT in 2023-24), with coconut (25,340 ha), cashew (8,760 ha) and cocoa (1,320 ha) (NABARD PLP 2026-27). Mangaluru-headquartered CAMPCO, the arecanut and cocoa cooperative, recorded Rs 3,735 crore turnover in 2025-26, procured 58,742.76 MT of arecanut worth Rs 2,924.32 crore, and its Puttur chocolate factory produced 12,606.40 MT with Rs 488.65 crore of cocoa and chocolate sales (company-wide). Cashew is one of the district's two Export Hub products, and the district has 3,698 food-processing units. The 2023-24 crop report shows arecanut on 99,194 ha, coconut 25,341 ha, spices and condiments 22,838 ha and other plantation crops 7,381 ha, with 5 regulated markets and 29 sub-markets (DES).
Investment
Employment Impact
Revenue / Exports
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - diversify incomes through processing and FPOs; support cashew exports
Pilgrimage & Coastal Tourism
Tourism Department figures show 6,53,39,542 domestic and 6,115 foreign tourists in 2025, up from about 5.07 crore in 2024 and 3.28 crore in 2023. Kukke Subrahmanya (1.60 crore), Dharmasthala (1.17 crore) and Kateel (63.6 lakh) lead, with Panambur (46.4 lakh), Someshwara (43.4 lakh) and Tannirbhavi (37.5 lakh) the busiest beaches and Pilikula drawing 28 lakh. The 2026-27 State Budget sets up a Kukke Shri Subramanya Temple development authority and a Comprehensive Coastal Tourism Development Plan (seaplanes, heli-taxis, river cruises), and Kodikal and Tannirbhavi beaches are among five coastal PPP tourism projects being fast-tracked (Sep 2026). Kukke Subrahmanya earned Rs 167.89 crore in 2025-26, the highest of any Muzrai temple in Karnataka for the 15th year running.
Employment Impact
Revenue / Exports
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - convert footfall into longer stays via the coastal plan and PPP projects
Healthcare & Education Services
A regional services hub: 2,880 hospitals with 23,234 beds and 5,059 doctors (31.03.2025, District At A Glance 2024-25), 9 medical colleges, 18 engineering colleges, 11 polytechnics and 118 degree colleges (Invest Karnataka). In 2026 the district ranked 1st in Karnataka in SSLC results and recorded 93.57% in 2nd PUC (2nd in the state). A 300-bed government hospital at Puttur received Finance Department approval in November 2025, and Wenlock District Hospital is being expanded (Rs 70 crore in two phases, plus 74 beds from a Rs 10 crore MRPL CSR grant).
Investment
Employment Impact
Timeline
Products
Target Buyers
Risks
PROCEED - deliver Puttur and Wenlock projects; extend public capacity to rural taluks
Sector Comparison
| Sector | Investment | Direct Jobs | Revenue | GDDP % | Time to Revenue | Risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Refining, Petrochemicals & Energy Security | ₹2,044 Cr | 2,450 | ₹1,05,155 Cr | - | Operational | Medium |
| Port, Shipping & Logistics | ₹438.29 Cr | - | ₹921.36 Cr | - | Operational | Low |
| Fertilisers, Chemicals & Iron-ore | ₹2,017.68 Cr | 10,782 | ₹613.46 Cr | - | Operational | Medium |
| Marine Fisheries & Seafood | ₹196.51 Cr | 31,153 | - | - | Operational | High |
| Plantation, Cashew & Agro-processing | ₹12 Cr | 24,232 | ₹3,735 Cr | - | Operational | High |
| Pilgrimage & Coastal Tourism | - | - | ₹167.89 Cr | - | Operational | Low |
| Healthcare & Education | ₹80 Cr | 5,059 | - | - | Operational | Low |
Farmer Producer Organisations
| Name | Location | Commodities | Members | Turnover | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pingaara Horticulture Farmers Producer Company Ltd | Vittal, Bantwal | Arecanut, Jackfruit products, Equipment hire (CHSC) | 1,150 | - | Registered |
| Navachetana Horticulture Farmers Producer Company Ltd | Karaya, Belthangady | Arecanut, Coconut, Pepper, Farm inputs | 1,000 | - | Registered |
| Aladangady Horticulture FPCL | Belthangady | Horticulture, Farm inputs, Custom hiring centre, Micro irrigation, Cattle feed | - | - | Registered |
| Kampu Agriculture and Horticulture Crop Producer Company Ltd | Adyanadka, Bantwal | Agriculture, Horticulture | - | - | Registered |
| Kumaradhara Farmers Producers Company Ltd | Chikkamudnoor, Puttur | Mixed crops | - | - | Registered |
| Sulya FPCL | Sullia | Farm inputs, Custom hiring centre | - | - | Registered |
| Janani Farmer Producer Company Ltd | Puttur | Farm inputs, Micro irrigation | - | - | Registered |
| Durgada Millets Farmers Producer Company Ltd | Moodubidire | Millets | - | - | Registered |
| Inchara FPCL | Bantwal | Equipment hire | - | - | Registered |
| Kadaba FPCL | Kadaba | Seeds, Fertilisers, Pesticides, Equipment | - | - | Registered |
| Ujire FPCL | Belthangady | Seeds, Fertilisers, Pesticides, Equipment | - | - | Registered |
| Kaikamba FPCL | Mangaluru | Seeds, Fertilisers, Pesticides, Equipment | - | - | Registered |
| Bantwala Sanjeevini Mahila Kisan PCL | Bantwal | Women farmers (mixed) | - | - | Registered |
| Mulika Raitha Utpadakara Sahakara Sangha | Mulki | Mixed crops (cooperative) | - | - | Registered |
| Bharatiya Raitha Utpadakara Sahakara Sangha | Ullala | Fertilisers, Pesticides | - | - | Registered |
| Sirikural FPCL | Mangaluru | Equipment, Tarpaulin | - | - | Registered |
| Bolpu FPCL | Bantwal | Equipment | - | - | Registered |
| Kaaniyoor Savanoor FPCL | Puttur | Fertilisers, Pesticides, Equipment | - | - | Registered |
| Parivaara Panja FPCL | Sullia | Fertilisers, Pesticides, Equipment, Cattle feed | - | - | Registered |
| Vinaya Coconut Growers FPCL | Mangaluru | Coconut, Seeds | - | - | Registered |
| Mahasheer Mathsya FPCL | Sullia | Fisheries | - | - | Registered |
| Puttura Muttu FPCL | Puttur | Mixed crops | - | - | Registered |
| Karavali Pig Farmers Producer Company Ltd | Bantwal | Piggery, Cattle feed | - | - | Registered |
Industrial Land
Mangalore Special Economic Zone (MSEZL) - Bajpe, Mangaluru taluk
Ganjimutt Plastic Park (KIADB) - Ganjimutt, Mangaluru taluk
Baikampady Industrial Area - Mangaluru
Canara Industrial Area - Mangaluru
IT SEZ - Mangaluru
EPIP - Mangaluru
Tannirbhavi Industrial Area - Mangaluru
Karnad Industrial Area - Mulki
Puttur Industrial Area - Puttur
Balkunje Industrial Area (proposed) - Balkunje, Kollur, Ulepady (Mulki)
Infrastructure Readiness
All villages electrified; MESCOM serves 403 HT and 9,147 LT industrial consumers using 512.84 MU in 2024-25 (DES). KCCI seeks underground cabling at Baikampady for reliable supply.
Groundwater Safe in all taluks, but Baikampady still awaits a proposed Rs 50 crore KIADB water treatment plant (KCCI, Sep 2026); MSEZ has invited EOIs for 22.7 MLD and 4.5 MLD tertiary treatment plants.
Strong external links (NH-66, NH-75, NH-169, port, airport), but ODC Road and internal Baikampady roads are reported unmotorable (KCCI, Sep 2026).
Baikampady Industrial Area lacks underground drainage (KCCI, Sep 2026).
SEZ-level tertiary treatment is being procured at MSEZ; no common effluent treatment plant for MSME estates is reported.
Credit & Banking
Sector-wise Credit
Challenges
MSME Registrations
By Enterprise Type
By Sector
Investment Proposals
Verified projects with published costs or approvals, not a full Udyog Mitra register. Largest approved private or PSU capex: Rs 1,150 crore acid plant (Paradeep Phosphates) and the ONGC 1.75 MT strategic petroleum reserve (cost not disclosed). Mangalore SEZ has attracted over Rs 16,000 crore of investment. District sector allocation through panchayats in 2026-27 is Rs 1,067 crore.
Major Proposals
| Project | Investor | Sector | Investment | Jobs | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strategic Petroleum Reserve (1.75 MT) | ONGC | Energy security | 1.75 million tonnes crude storage | - | Board approved (Jul 2026) |
| Phosphoric & Sulphuric Acid Plant | Paradeep Phosphates | Fertilisers | ₹1150.0 Cr | - | Approved (Nov 2025), 2.5 years |
| Jalasiri 24x7 Water Supply | KUIDFC (ADB-funded) | Urban water | ₹587.7 Cr | - | 76% complete (Jun 2026) |
| Blast Furnace Unit integration incl. 1.80 LTPA coke oven | KIOCL | Iron and steel inputs | ₹836.9 Cr | - | Approved; coke oven 76% complete (Mar 2026) |
| Berth No. 9 Redevelopment (liquid bulk, PPP) | New Mangalore Port Authority (private concessionaire) | Port | ₹438.3 Cr | - | Approved (Mar 2026) |
| Kulai Fishing Harbour | Sagarmala (GoI), NMPA, GoK | Fisheries | ₹196.5 Cr | - | Under implementation (works paused since Oct 2024) |
| Wenlock District Hospital expansion | GoK (Health) and MRPL CSR | Health | ₹80.0 Cr | - | Approved (2026) |
| Ganjimutt Plastic Park | Dept of Chemicals & Petrochemicals (GoI) and KIADB | Plastics | ₹62.8 Cr | 1,000 | Plot allotment notified (Apr 2026); 52 plots |
| KIOCL Coal Handling System | KIOCL | Iron-ore processing | ₹30.8 Cr | - | Under execution |
| 300-bed Government Hospital, Puttur | GoK (Medical Education) | Health | 300 beds | - | Finance Dept approved (Nov 2025) |
| Mangaluru Smart City | GoI and GoK | Urban infrastructure | ₹2573.0 Cr | - | 98 of 105 completed (Aug 2026); Rs 916 cr released |
| Balkunje MSME Industrial Area | KIADB | Industrial land | 1,050 acres proposed | - | Delayed |
| Kodikal and Tannirbhavi beach projects | GoK Tourism (PPP) | Tourism | PPP coastal destinations | - | Fast-tracked (Sep 2026) |
Bottlenecks
Start a new discussion
No discussions yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.
Data to Verify
13 datapoints pending field reconciliation · Reviewed 2026-09-17
Census 2011 DCHB gives 4,861 sq km; NABARD PLP 2026-27 gives 4,774 sq km (4,77,380 ha)
Census 2011 reports 5 taluks; groundwater, credit and PLP data use the current 9 taluks (Mangaluru, Ullal, Mulki, Moodbidri, Bantwal, Belthangady, Puttur, Kadaba, Sullia)
KIADB estate data is from the 2010-11 District Industrial Profile; current vacancy and allotment are unpublished
CHC count: 7 in the 2010-11 MSME-DI profile; 8 in Invest Karnataka and in District At A Glance 2024-25 (31.03.2025)
District tourist figures come from Tourism Department data as reported by News Karnataka; an official district table was not located
SLBC CD ratio (70.04%, June 2026) covers SLBC member banks; NABARD PLP's all-agency ratio including cooperatives was 71.2% (31.03.2025)
MRPL revenue and profit are company-wide, not district GDDP
District GDDP is published only as agriculture, industry and services shares. Sector employment is now filled from DIC and department data (chemical factories 10,782; food units 24,232; fishing families 31,153; doctors 5,059), and revenues from NMPA accounts, company reports and the Muzrai temple record
No planning estimates are used; components without a published cost show no budget
NABARD PLP 2026-27 shows 3,44,507 MT fish production (year and scope not stated); Fisheries Department marine catch was 2.39 lakh MT (2023-24) and 1.72 lakh MT (2024-25)
KIADB page gives 96 acres; Invest Karnataka and news give 104 acres
NABARD PLP 2026-27 gave net irrigated area 1,61,860 ha and '549 hospitals, 23,134 beds'; DES District At A Glance 2024-25 gives 1,49,769 ha (2023-24 crop report) and 2,880 hospitals (549 of them government) with 23,234 beds
Fisheries Department (Hans India): marine catch 1.72 lakh MT in 2024-25; DES District At A Glance: total fish catch 1,78,981 tonnes in 2024-25 (all sources)
Data Sources
64 sources · Last verified: 2026-09-17
| Source | Type | Fields |
|---|---|---|
| Census of India 2011 - District Census Handbook, Dakshina Kannada (Part A) | Demographics | Population, sex, rural/urban, Literacy, Sex ratio, Area and density, SC/ST share, Workers profile |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2025-26 (official PDF) | Economy | GDDP Rs 1,54,509 cr (Appendix 1.6), NDDP and constant-price GDDP, Per-capita income Rs 6,26,279 |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2025-26 - Table 1.8 sector contributions | Economy | Agriculture 6.8%, industry 37.4%, services 55.8%, GDDP rank 2 |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2025-26 - Table 1.9 | Economy | Share of GSDP 5.3%, PCI rank and state average |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2024-25 - Appendix 1.6 (2023-24 GDDP) | Economy | GDDP 2023-24 Rs 1,37,746 cr (growth base) |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2023-24 - District-wise HDI 2022 (CSV) | Human Development | HDI 0.687, rank 2, HDI 2015 0.6636, rank 3 |
| Economic Survey of Karnataka 2023-24 - Taluk-wise HDI 2022 (CSV) | Human Development | Mangalore taluk rank 1 of 176 |
| NABARD Potential Linked Credit Plan 2026-27, Dakshina Kannada | Agriculture & Finance | Land use, irrigation, cropping, Plantation crops, Health facilities and beds, FPOs, Fisheries, Branch network, NPA, financial inclusion |
| Dynamic Ground Water Resources of Karnataka 2025 (CGWB and Ground Water Directorate) | Water | Stage of extraction 45.71%, Taluk categories and stages, 2024 rainfall |
| SLBC Karnataka - District-wise CD ratio (30.06.2026) | Finance | Deposits, advances, CD ratio 70.04%, Rural/semi-urban/urban split |
| SLBC Karnataka - District-wise CD ratio (31.03.2026) | Finance | 670 branches, CD ratio 69.40% |
| SLBC Karnataka - District-wise CD ratio (31.12.2025) | Finance | CD ratio 69.09% |
| SLBC Karnataka - ACP Target vs Achievement FY2025-26 | Finance | Priority sector 113.38%, Agriculture 110.96%, MSME 109.43%, Total 76.32% |
| Ministry of MSME - District-wise Udyam registered enterprises (data.gov.in) | MSME | 99,854 MSMEs (rank 6) |
| MSME-DI - Brief Industrial Profile of Dakshina Kannada District | Industry | KIADB industrial areas (2010-11), Registered units and employment, Large and mega industries, CHC count (2010-11) |
| MRPL Annual Report 2025-26 | Industry | 16.774 MMT crude processed, Revenue Rs 1,05,155 cr, PAT Rs 1,931 cr, 2,450 employees |
| Deccan Herald - NMPA handles 50.04 MT cargo in 2025-26 | Infrastructure | Port cargo 2025-26 |
| Maritime Gateway - New Mangalore Port FY2025-26 throughput | Infrastructure | 46.01 MMT in 2024-25, TEUs |
| News Karnataka - Tourist footfall in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi (Tourism Department data) | Tourism | Domestic and foreign tourists 2023-2025, Site-wise footfall |
| PIB - MSP for kharif crops, marketing season 2026-27 | Agriculture | Paddy common Rs 2,441/q |
| PIB - MSP for copra, 2026 season | Agriculture | Milling copra Rs 12,027/q, Ball copra Rs 12,500/q |
| Deccan Herald - Rs 2,573 crore invested in Mangaluru Smart City | Investment | Smart City investment |
| KIADB - Development of Plastic Park at Ganjimutt, Mangaluru | Investment | Plastic Park project |
| Canara Bank - Lead District Office contact details (Dakshina Kannada) | Finance | Lead bank: Canara Bank |
| News Karnataka - Karnataka fast-tracks five coastal tourism projects (1 Sep 2026) | Tourism | Kodikal and Tannirbhavi beach PPP projects |
| ICAR-Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Dakshina Kannada - FPOs | Agriculture | Pingara and Navachetana horticulture FPOs |
| Karnataka Budget 2026-27 - Budget Speech (English) | Budget | Fisheries CoE (para 75), Puttur 300-bed hospital (para 160), Coastal tourism plan (para 406), Kukke development authority (para 443), Minor irrigation works in DK |
| Budget Allotment for Zilla Panchayats 2026-27, Vol II Mysuru Division | Budget | DK allocation Rs 1,067.38 cr by major head |
| KIOCL 50th Annual Report 2025-26 (BSE filing) | Industry | Revenue Rs 613.46 cr, PAT Rs 16.57 cr, 3.5 MTPA pellet plant; coke oven Rs 218.30 cr (76%) |
| Paradeep Phosphates - Board outcome 6 Nov 2025 | Industry | Rs 1,150 cr acid plant at Mangalore |
| Mangalore SEZ Ltd - About us | Industry | 1,620 acres; Rs 16,000 cr investment; Rs 34,000 cr exports |
| Mangalore SEZ Ltd - Units | Industry | Aromatics complex, Syngene, ISPRL |
| Business Standard - ONGC 1.75 MT strategic petroleum reserve at Mangalore (Jul 2026) | Industry | SPR approval |
| PIB - New Mangalore Port Golden Jubilee, Rs 1,500 cr projects (13 Nov 2025) | Infrastructure | Rs 1,500 cr projects; Rs 52,000 cr MoUs; coffee and LPG rank; 100 MMT by 2047 |
| Mangalorean - Kulai fishing harbour progress and challenges (Feb 2025) | Infrastructure | Rs 196.51 cr cost and funding split; works on hold since Oct 2024 |
| Construction World - Berth No. 9 redevelopment approved (Mar 2026) | Infrastructure | Rs 438.29 cr PPP; 10.90 MTPA; 14 m draft |
| PIB - Sagarmala dossier (Apr 2026) | Infrastructure | Kulai fishing harbour under implementation |
| News Karnataka - CAMPCO FY2025-26 results | Agriculture | Turnover Rs 3,735 cr; arecanut procurement; chocolate production |
| The Hans India - Marine fishing 2025-26 | Fisheries | DK marine catch 2023-24 and 2024-25 |
| News Karnataka - DK declared Export Hub (Dec 2025) | Trade | Seafood and cashew |
| Invest Karnataka - Dakshina Kannada district profile | Industry | DIC MSME counts, Company investments, Education and health institutions, Balkunje land bank |
| Mangalorean - KCCI memorandum to CM (Sep 2026) | Industry | Balkunje, JESCO/KISCO land, Baikampady infrastructure |
| Deccan Herald - Jalasiri 24x7 water 76% complete (Jun 2026) | Water | Rs 587.67 cr, progress |
| Deccan Herald - Puttur 300-bed hospital approved (Dec 2025) | Health | Puttur hospital |
| Deccan Herald - Wenlock medicine block expansion (Feb 2026) | Health | Rs 70 cr expansion; 74 CSR beds |
| ETV Bharat - Smart Cities Mission progress (Aug 2026) | Urban | Mangaluru 98 of 105 projects |
| Newsfirst Prime - SSLC 2026 results | Education | DK rank 1 |
| Careers360 - 2nd PUC 2026 district results | Education | DK 93.57% |
| KSNDMC district rainfall 2025 (OpenCity CSV) | Climate | 4,910 mm, +23% |
| CoE for FPOs, Government of Karnataka - FPO Communication Directory | Agriculture | Named DK FPOs incl Kumaradhara |
| K-GIS Karnataka FPO dashboard (KSRSAC / Watershed Development Department) | Agriculture | State FPO registry map |
| K-GIS FPO layer query - Dakshina Kannada (22 FPOs) | Agriculture | FPO name, taluk, scheme category, business activity |
| Deccan Herald - 750 Amrith FPOs approved (Aug 2021) | Agriculture | Amrith FPO programme |
| ICAR-KVK Dakshina Kannada - Navachetana HFPCL work report 2019-20 | Agriculture | 1,000 member farmers; Rs 1,000 share each |
| DES Karnataka - District At A Glance 2024-25, Dakshina Kannada (K-GIS) | Official statistics | Health (pp. 321-326), Fisheries (pp. 193-195), Factories and DIC units (pp. 196-214), Banks, ATMs, Mudra (pp. 215-224), Irrigation by source 2023-24 (pp. 81-84), Energy (pp. 411-418), MGNREGA (pp. 392-393), Indicators (pp. 474-480) |
| NMPA - Accounting services tender 2026-27 (financial performance 2024-25) | Infrastructure | Operating income Rs 921.36 cr; PAT Rs 420.57 cr |
| News Karnataka - Kukke Subrahmanya temple revenue 2025-26 | Tourism | Rs 167.89 cr income |
| Agmarknet daily mandi prices (data.gov.in) | Agriculture | Belthangady APMC arecanut prices |
| News Karnataka (Dailyhunt) - Plastic Park project gathers pace (Jun 2026) | Industry | Litigation resolved Oct 2025; plots notified Apr 2026 |
| SLBC Karnataka - District-wise CD ratio 31.12.2024 | Credit | Deposits, advances, CD ratio Dec 2024 |
| SLBC Karnataka - District-wise ACP target FY2026-27 | Credit | MSME target split |
| ICAR-KVK Dakshina Kannada - Pingara HFPCL work report 2019-20 | Agriculture | 1,150 member farmers |
| Deccan Chronicle - Plastic Park to create about 1,000 direct jobs (Jun 2023) | Industry | 1,000 direct and 10,000 indirect jobs projected; 52 plots; 39 firms interested |
| News Karnataka - Plastic Park 55% complete (Aug 2024, Parliament reply) | Industry | 55% progress, land litigation |
